top of page
  • Writer's pictureKIBI Sports

IPL Points Table 2023, Orange and Purple Cap Holders

ipl teams

The struggle for an orange and purple cap has begun in the Indian Premier League, which is halfway through. The Orange Cap and Purple Cap have long been regarded as the most eminent awards in the IPL, linked with batting and bowling excellence. Let’s have a look at the top 5 compelling players in the race for an orange and purple cap.

The Orange Cap was taken by Faf Du Plessis.

faf du plessis

Faf Du Plessis wore the orange cap again on Monday as he amassed 44 runs as RCB defeated LSG by 18 runs in the ongoing IPL. In addition, Rajasthan Royals opener Yashaswi Jaiswal is in second place after smashing his maiden century against the Mumbai Indians on Sunday. CSK openers Devon Convey and Ruturaj Gaikwad are currently third and fifth in the table following outstanding performances against PBKS on Sunday. Between these CSK Openers, Chase Master Virat Kohli earned his place in fourth position in the race of an Orange Cap. How fantastic it will be to glance at who, at the end of the IPL, will finally clinch this Orange Cap of IPL edition 2023!

Preceding Orange Cap holders in the IPL include Jos Butler in 2022, Ruturaj Gaikwad in 2021, KL Rahul in 2020, David Warner in 2019, Kane Williamson in 2018, David Warner in 2017, Virat Kohli in 2016, David Warner in 2015, Robin Uthappa in 2014, Michael Hussey in 2013, Chris Gayle in 2012 and 2011, Sachin Tendulkar in 2010, Matthew Hayden in 2009, and Shaun Marsh in 2008.

ipl orange cap holders

Mohammed Shami reaches for a Purple Cap.

mohd shami

It appears to be a battle between the players vying for the purple cap. GT pacer Mohammed Shami has 17 wickets and an economy of 7. In addition, CSK seamer Tushar Deshpande took 17 wickets, although he finished second due to an economy of 11. Furthermore, RCB pacer Mohammed Siraj, GT pacer Rashid Khan, and PBKS pacer Arshdeep Singh are third, fourth, and fifth, with 15 wickets each but a small difference in their economies. It will be fascinating to see who will clinch the purple cap in this ongoing edition of the IPL.

Former Purple Cap holders in the IPL have been Yuzvendra Chahal in 2022, Harshal Patel in 2021, Kagiso Rabada in 2020, Imran Tahir in 2019, Andrew Tye in 2018, Bhuvneshwar Kumar in 2017 and 2016, Dwayne Bravo in 2015, Mohit Sharma in 2014, Dwayne Bravo in 2013, Morne Morkel in 2012, Lasith Malinga in 2011, Pragyan Ojha in 2010, RP Singh in 2009, and Sohail Tanvir in 2008.

ipl purple cap holder


Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page