top of page
  • Writer's pictureKIBI Sports

Australia announce 15-man squad for T20 World Cup

The squad quashed speculation that Australia might spare some of its top players from the October-November World Cup ahead of a big summer highlighted by an Ashes series against England. Australia has announced their 15-man squad for the upcoming edition of the T20 World Cup which is scheduled to be held in the UAE. The big names made a comeback to the squad while the uncapped player, Josh Inglis, received his maiden call-up.

The players who were given an opportunity in the recently concluded Bangladesh series couldn’t make the most of it and failed to make it to the side. This includes Moises Henriques, Alex Carey, Josh Philippe, and Ashton Turner. Also missing will be bowlers Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, and Jason Behrendorff.

Aaron Finch will lead the team, while Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, David Warner, and Pat Cummins make a return to the side after having opted out of the away tours of Bangladesh and West Indies. Steve Smith has recovered from his elbow injury and will also join the squad which also includes three travel reserves – Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis, and Daniel Sams.

Speaking of the potential in the squad, the newly appointed selection chair George Bailey was pleased with the squad, which has a mix of youth and experience going into the T20 World Cup.

“We are confident this squad has the ability to take the side deep into what will be an extremely competitive tournament. We have some of the best players in the world in their respective roles combined with the collective experience to succeed against the very best T20 side in the world,” Bailey said.

Uncapped West Australian Josh Inglis has been included as a backup wicketkeeper to Matthew Wade. “Josh has been on our radar for some time with his performances in white-ball cricket,” Bailey said.

“He offers the squad flexibility in the batting order with his adaptability, counter-attacking ability, and power striking. He is a player we are excited about for the future.”

Australia squad for T20 World Cup 2021

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins (VC), Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa. Traveling reserves: Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis, Daniel Sams


Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page